Print this page
Monday, 14 May 2018 13:28

Names Chosen for Streets in Moreshet

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The city council approved the names chosen by the naming committee for streets in the new Moreshet neighborhood. The neighborhood, currently under construction in the western part of the city, near Nofim and Avnei Chen, is expected to be completed in about three and a half years. The neighborhood is very large and includes more than 4,000 apartments, most of them are part of the fixed price housing program, 14 streets, public buildings and schools.

Eight years ago, the naming committee changed the names of the neighborhoods that were built in the first stage of the city. The committee changed the names of the existing neighborhoods that were unofficially called the names of the architects that designed them and named the three future neighborhoods: Nofim, Moreshet and Givat Sher. In most neighborhoods, there is a connection between the name of the neighborhood and the streets. A year and a half ago, the naming committee and the city council decided to name the streets in Nofim for forests in Israel.

Over the past few months, the naming committee, headed by council member Elad Shimonovich, discussed appropriate names for streets in the Moreshet neighborhood. Among the possibilities raised by the committee members were Zionist, Jewish, cultural and national heritage, with the committee's recommendation to add a short explanation of the name. The committee decided on naming the streets for the founding fathers, presidents and prime ministers who have not yet been commemorated in the city. The committee also decided to commemorate only the prime ministers and presidents who are not alive. The committee chose to commemorate prime ministers: Moshe Sharett, Levi Eshkol, Yitzhak Shamir, Shimon Peres and Ariel Sharon. The rest of the streets will be named for presidents: Chaim Weizmann, Ezer Weizman, Yitzhak Ben-Zvi, Zalman Shazar, Ephraim Katzir, Yizhak Navon and Chaim Herzog. The main street in the neighborhood will be named for Prime Minister Golda Meir. In response to the request by the committee for the advancement of women, the committee added a street named for Sarah Aaronsohn. In the future, there will be three paths named for women: Nechama Leibowitz, Hannah Szenes and Henrietta Szold.

The street on the northern end of the neighborhood that will connect to future neighborhoods to be built in the second stage of the city will be called Emek Hefer. The committee also chose a name for the new street created by a change in the plans of the Tzipporim neighborhood, named Shahaf.

Last modified on Monday, 14 May 2018 20:29
Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account